2012 In The Pink Awards and Recognition Ceremony

The Annual In the Pink Recognition & Award Reception was held at the magnificent Palm Beach International Equestrian Center in Wellington, Florida on May 3, 2012. Komen South Florida Affiliate Board Vice President, Kathleen Bocek welcomed over 120 guests attended and all 21 organizations who received 2012-2013 funding for breast health education, screening, and treatment grants were represented.

WPTV’s Tania Rogers was our hostess. Plaques and awards were distributed to grantee organizations and volunteers whose efforts result in helping obtain breast care services for people in our community who otherwise would not be able to receive early detection, prevention, and treatment care for breast cancer.

It brought together Board Members, Key Volunteers, our Pink Honor Roll, Third Party Special Event Chairs, Rally for the Cure Chairs and Affiliate Staff as well as our current Grantees. Everyone enjoyed the opportunity for our fundraisers, volunteers and grantees to mix and mingle together, celebrate our successes and deepen our commitment to
Our Vision – a world without breast cancer.

The Outstanding New Volunteer Award was presented to Malcolm Gropper.This award is given to a new volunteer who has enhanced our Affiliate with his/her skills, talents and dedication.


Malcolm is not really new to us, since his better half is one of our office core volunteers. As you all know whenever anyone says to us they want to volunteer, our immediate answer is always, “do you have any special skills and when can you start?” He was no exception. We learned that he was a very accomplished photographer and his work has been showcased at the Boca Raton Museum of Art. His first assignment was the Survivor Celebration and Fashion Show held at Bethesda Hospital. Malcolm has truly demonstrated his commitment to the Affiliate by sharing his photography talents and helping our Communications Committee to increase our portfolio of event photos.

The Office Volunteer of the Year award was presented to Lynn Levy. This award is given to Lynn for her  unwavering commitment to the office staff rain or shine.


Her commitment year-round makes our Komen South Florida Affiliate Office function at high speed, high quality, and her laughter is boundless. She is an integral part of our team, and
we are all enriched by being in her presence.

We can always count on Lynn to organize our educational materials & giveaways, carry out Race sponsorship assignments and more tasks then we have the time to count.

Mary Booher Volunteerism Award was presented to Dave Ragsdale. 


Last year, we awarded the first Mary Booher Volunteerism Award in honor of our founding board member, Mary Booher.

This award is given to an individual for his or her exemplary volunteer efforts and unwavering commitment to our vision of a world without breast cancer. Dave has enriched our Affiliate in a multitude of ways. His outstanding leadership has been evidenced not only as our current Board President but also as the first Race Chair to hit the million dollar revenue mark.

He has been continuously and enthusiastically advocating for breast health services for all in need. He gives his time, talent and heart to our mission every day representing our Affiliate and spreading our message throughout the community.

The Affiliate proudly awarded its highest award, the 
Eleanor Goodman Spirit Award to Mary Booher.

mbooher-egoodman-award-150x98The Eleanor Goodman Spirit Award was created in honor of Susan G. Komen and Nancy G. Brinker’s mother, Eleanor Goodman, also known as “Ms. Ellie.” Ms. Ellie instilled the importance of giving back to the community in her daughters at a very early age.

The recipient of this award instills the same altruistic spirit in our community that Miss Ellie did while stressing the importance of a passion for a cause. Mary has consistently worked at educating the public about breast cancer awareness through the many committees she has either chaired or been a member of throughout the last 20 years.

As a current honorary lifetime board member, she has shown the true spirit of volunteerism by continually giving of her time year after year. To everyone who knows her, she defines warmth, caring, class and wisdom.